The St’át’imc Chiefs Council (SCC) is comprised of one Chief from each St’át’imc community.  The St’at’imc communities are Bridge River (Xwisten), Pavilion (Ts’kw’aylaxw), Cayoose Creek (Sekw’al’was), Mt. Currie (Lil’wat), Lillooet (T’it’q’et), Fountain (Xaxli’p), Anderson Lake (N’Quatqua), Douglas (Xa’xtsa), Skatin and Samahquam and Seton (Tsal’alh).

At a political unity meeting in Sutikalh in 1998, title and rights issues affecting the St’át’imc as a whole dominated the discussions.  After debate and deliberation as to how to address these issues, the People gave the Chiefs at the time, direction to make a pact with one another to work together to advance and protect St’át’imc title and rights.  This direction was given because The People knew our voice and actions are more powerful collectively rather than individually.

Since 1998, the St’át’imc Chiefs had formalized themselves as the St’át’imc Chiefs Council and continue to work collectively advocating for the People and the Land on various political topics and issues.  Issues such as the St’át’imc/BCH Agreement, Fisheries, Health, Forestry, Education, Mining, and Nation Building constitution development have been prevalent issues to date.

The SCC is not a power or authority unto themselves.  Political mandates and directives are given by each St’át’imc community for their Chief to work with other St’át’imc Chiefs on collective political issues.

The St’át’imc Chiefs Council recognizes each community retains jurisdiction and autonomy relating to their traditional areas of use and their members.  The St’át’imc Chiefs Council is entrusted to collectively ensure title and rights of the St’át’imc are never extinguished and territorial and cultural integrity is honored, respected and protected.  A St’át’imc Unity Declaration of Mutual Respect and Understanding was signed May 10, 2010 by each community solidifies the commitment each St’át’imc community has to stand united.

Under the guidance and direction of the St’át’imc, the St’át’imc Chiefs Council will develop and implement a governance structure for self-determination that will maintain social, traditional, economic and territorial integrity (which includes ecological and cultural sustainability) as stated in the Declaration of the Lillooet Tribe, dated May 10, 1911 and in the St’át’imc Unity Declaration, dated May 10, 2010.