The St’át’imc Communities reached a Settlement Agreement with the Province of BC and BC Hydro on May 10, 2011 to compensate for impacts to St’át’imc lands and people caused by hydro development in the territory.  The Settlement Agreement requires that specified sums of money are paid to the Communities (either directly or into Trust) over a period of many years.  There are 10 St’át’imc Communities who are beneficiaries from this agreement: Samahquam, Sekw’el’was, Xaxlip, N’Quatqua, T’it’q’et, Skatin, Tsal’alh, Douglas, Ts’kw’aylaxw and Xwisten.

The St’át’imc (PC) 2011 Trust was created to receive the funds from the settlement and to flow funds to the Participating Communities and the St’át’imc Chiefs Council.   The Settlement and Participating Communities Implementation Agreements provide guidance on how the Trust is to be structured, how settlement funds will be paid and how the trust funds can be used.


Questions_trust_chartThe Participating Communities and the St’át’imc Authority are able to access the trust funds for the following purposes:

  • Administration and governance
  • Aboriginal title, rights or responsibilities
  • Culture and heritage
  • Social and spiritual well being
  • Economic development and well being
  • Education and training
  • Environment and natural resources
  • Health
  • Infrastructure and programming
  • Recreation and sport
  • Charity

One Trustee is appointed from each of the ten Participating Communities and together with the Administrative Trustee, they form the Board of Trustees.  The Trustees are:

  • Samahquam – Kerry Lumsden
  • Sekw’el’was – Trish Andrew
  • Xaxli’p – Karen Mitchell
  • N’Quatqua – Vanessa Mountain
  • Skatin – Johnny Sam
  • Tsal’alh – Linda O’Donaghey
  • Douglas – Cecille Comeau
  • Xwisten – Florence Jack
  • Ts’kw’aylaxw – Raquel Kane
  • T’it’q’et – Courteney Adolph-Jones
  • Administrative Trustee – Lisa Ethans, Deloitte LLP

Lisa Ethans is a Chartered Accountant, Chartered Business Valuator, and a partner in Financial Advisory Services at Deloitte LLP. Lisa  is also the National practice leader for Deloitte’s Aboriginal Client Services practice. As  Administrative Trustee of the St’at’imc (PC) Trust, Lisa takes care of all accounting and administration of the trust, chairs all trust meetings, prepares the agendas, financial information  and any  other information the trustees require to make decisions. Essentially, her job is to help the trustees fulfill all of  their duties and ensure compliance with the trust agreement.  Lisa went to Washington State University, and earned a business degree (BA).

The Trustees meet regularly to review the financial status of the trust funds, develop policies and procedures as required to operate the trust in an efficient manner, review and discuss trust matters as they arise and report back to the Participating Communities and St’át’imc Chiefs Council. Trustees term of office is 5 years.